Furling Jib

General Sailing Talk
geoffr

Furling Jib

Post by geoffr »

Hi all:

The Investigator Technical Report #4 (available elsewhere on this site) details a method of rigging and running a dual forestay system, as illustrated in the Figs 1 & 2.

I would be keen to hear of anyone using this technique, and its advantages over a single forestay and wire luff jib that is simply hauled tight between the furler drum and a swivel at the head of the sail.

The attached drawing and pictures from the Careel site show a similar setup.

Many thanks.
Attachments
IMG_1303.jpg
IMG_1302.jpg
Forestay_furler_diagram.jpg
Geoff
Investigator 563 'QUMBU'
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
kevwr400

Re: Furling Jib

Post by kevwr400 »

Hi Geoff, im no expert but looks it would allow you reef the head sail, although rapping your sail around all of those pulleys and standing rigging and not being able to lower may cause chaffing even fully furled in winds. On my last boat I modified bow sprit to accommodate furler and forestay and separated them with a piece of Teflon cutting board, to stop binding.
geoffr

Post by geoffr »

Hi

Yep, I'm no expert either, but on my previous boat I also went to great lengths to keep the forestay and the wire edge luff of my jib separate, for the reasons you outlined.

I think the rig in the picture here is for using/swapping different sized jibs that are not wire-luff (i.e. clip-ons), so that you can attach and furl them too.

But I'm only guessing at this stage.

Cheers,
Geoff
Investigator 563 'QUMBU'
Yara50

Post by Yara50 »

There are those who love the neatness of the furled jib, and those like me who have had a tangled mass of flapping sail and sheets in a strong wind and decided never to touch a furler again. There is a big difference between a furler and a roller reefer. The latter has a torque tube to the top of the jib, and will roll up reasonably uniformly. The furler only twirls at the bottom, and you hope that the top turns with it.