Storage and use of space

General Sailing Talk
kevwr400

Storage and use of space

Post by kevwr400 »

Hi, new to the 'Investigator', new to this sight. I have stepped up from an 'Ultimate 16' which was a fantastic boat, but it had no room for a head :-( I have always loved the Investigator's hull shape, so when the opportunity arose I purchased one. So back to my question, 'storage and use of space' could anyone please help with pictures or ideas on how to organize or use cabin space to its fullest, lockers, shelf’s etc, is it possible to use space under cockpit floor on runners, any help would be much appreciated. I love to cruise the Gippsland lakes and are always looking for ways to do it comfortably
Ps, Peter, hope to be down the lakes over that weekend if I am I will look you out. :-)
TheMonk

Re: Storage and use of space

Post by TheMonk »

Hello Kev, good choice in boats, I'm new to my I563 too. Regarding storage and under the cockpit specifically. I found an image on this site where someone had joined 3 rectangular buckets together which then slid up aft from within the cabin under the cockpit. One row of buckets on each side of the CB cable housing, 6 buckets. I copied the idea and it stores a lot
of gear.

My investigator, sail #53, has storage under the V berth which, I believe, only exists on the early models. Later models were sealed for buoyancy purposes. I also have a shelf on either side of the "main" cabin which holds a fair bit too.

Hope this helps, John.

Edit :- go to Gallery page then "under the cockpit sole" by Yara for some pics.
Last edited by TheMonk on Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
graham5494

Post by graham5494 »

Gidday all . On this topic has anyone got a photo of a table installation ? Do I need to install a centre-board case to mount the table on ? Also where is the table stowed when not in use ?

graham5494
snoopebj

Post by snoopebj »

Welcome Kev