General Sailing Talk
PeterY

Post by PeterY »

Hello everyone,
My name is Peter Yates and thanks to Ian, I have joined your forum.

I have just bought my 16th TS (over 40 years) and it is my third I563. Needless to say, boat types vary as life circumstances change, but clearly at various stages, I have found the I563 to be very suitable. They are just a good design as you all know!

I am mainly a potterer and often a solo sailor. My wife does sail with me but not very keen unless conditions are perfect and anyway we have two pet greyhounds and we don't leave them for more than about 6 hours!

I don't know the history of this one, but I bought it in Highett Victoria and I think it was owned there for a few years before I bought it. It came without a name and after much deliberation, I abandoned the idea of a detective name and called her "TRICKSY". If anyone is interested I will explain the name at a later date, but being a newbie I will keep this a bit brief. I believe she is number 004 (at least that is the number on the mainsail), so a very early one still in white gelcoat and very well kept.

Previous boats were "SHERLOCK" AND "PRIVATE EYE".

Haven't wet this one yet as I am waiting on decent inner marine axle seals to keep the bearings in order.

I also own a delightful little CAL14 called GYPSY. In theory I need to sell GYPSY now, but she is such a nice boat, I will hang onto her as long as the treasurer allows.

I live between Melbourne and Bendigo, so a long way from any water. Main destination is the Gippsland Lakes where we have just bought a small holiday house.

Looking forward to joining your discussions.

Cheers,

Peter
Yara50

Re: Newbie

Post by Yara50 »

Welcome, Peter.

WRT bearing seals, hope you are getting the spring loaded oil type seals, rather than what are called "marine" type but are hopeless. Even the normal seals are better.
Ian B
Ex Investigator 563 #50 Yara
PeterY

Post by PeterY »